Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga co-founder launches mobile studio

Zynga co-founder launches mobile studio

Wed 30 Apr 2014 7:33am GMT / 3:33am EDT / 12:33am PDT
Development

Eric Schiermeyer working on Greedy Goblins title

Eric Schiermeyer, Zynga co-founder and former VP of product at the company, has launched his own mobile studio in San Francisco.

Luminary is already showing off its first title, a goblin racing game that its creator is calling a "strategic runner."

"This is my answer to what I was experiencing over there," Schiermeyer said of Zynga in an interview with VentureBeat.

"We wanted to do a game company right. We aren't rushing to clone something, be it a game or a company. Our founders have experienced many types of startups and established companies. We've learned a lot from those experiences, and this company is an answer."

Schiermeyer was also once the CTO of Myspace and calls himself a "serial entrepreneur". Speaking to Techcrunch a former colleague of Schiermeyer's said "he was known as the most aggressive man at Zynga."

"He's the one who made numbers God in the product management cultures."

Last July Schiermeyer joined casino game developer Bee Cave as an investor and board advisor.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now