Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Epic adds consoles to $19 Unreal Engine 4 program

Epic adds consoles to $19 Unreal Engine 4 program

Thu 24 Apr 2014 3:37pm GMT / 11:37am EDT / 8:37am PDT
Developer ToolsDevelopment

First major update adds console support for registered PS4 and Xbox One devs, SteamOS and Linux support for all

When Epic Games announced its $19 subscription-based Unreal Engine 4 program last month, one of the caveats was that it would not include support for consoles. That's no longer the case, as Epic today released the first major update to Unreal Engine 4, bringing with it full support for the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, provided the users in question are registered developers on either platform.

Developers who aren't working on consoles will also get some utility out of Unreal Engine 4.1, as the update also adds official support for SteamOS and Linux, as well as tweaks to workflow on mobile platforms and various improvements in response to community comments.

The subscription-based Unreal Engine 4 program gives users full access to the engine's toolset and C++ source code, as well as the option of modifying and sharing code with other subscribers. Epic charges users a $19 monthly fee for the access, as well as 5 percent of all gross revenues that come from games built using the tech, including revenues from microtransactions, DLC, or game subscriptions.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now