Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail adds Linux support

By Matthew Handrahan adds Linux support

Wed 19 Mar 2014 9:21am GMT / 5:21am EDT / 2:21am PDT

More than 100 games to launch with the service this autumn is adding support for the Linux operating system, kicking off with more than 100 games by the autumn.

The popular digital storefront, which specialises in selling older games that are no longer compatible with contemporary technology, will launch for the Ubuntu and Mint operating systems later this year. still hasn't decided which games will be the first to hit its Linux-based service, but it has pledged to release more than 100 when it launches in the autumn.

"We've only been working on bringing these Linux games to our service for a few months, and there's lots more to go, but we wanted to let you know what's going to be coming this fall to a digital distributor near you," a post on the site read.

"We're initially going to be launching our Linux support on with the full treatment for Ubuntu and Mint. That means that right now, we're hammering away at testing games on a variety of configurations, training up our teams on Linux-speak, and generally getting geared up for a big kick-off in the fall with at least 100 Linux games ready for you to play."

This is another significant boost for the Linux gaming scene, which has lagged far behind that on Windows and Mac OS. Not that Linux lacks other champions within the industry, of course: Valve's SteamOS is also based in Linux.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now