Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

NPD: $3.5 billion spent on games in Q1 2013

NPD: $3.5 billion spent on games in Q1 2013

Fri 07 Jun 2013 4:01pm GMT / 12:01pm EDT / 9:01am PDT
Financial

New research shows that digital picked up where retail slumped

Consumers in the United States spent $3.5 billion on video games during the first quarter of 2013, according to a new NPD Group report. Of that total, $1.37 billion went to physical software purchases, $559 million was spent on used sales and rentals, and $1.49 billion was spent on digital purchases, includng subscriptions, mobile games, and downloadable content. The total revenue for video games was flat year-over-year, with the same $3.5 billion total in the first quarter of 2012.

"Digital spending fully offset the declines in physical format spend in Q1'13," said NPD analyst Liam Callahan. "There is strong growth in full-game downloads and downloadable add-on content sales across consoles, PCs, and portables, up a combined 25 percent in the first quarter of this year."

The full report, 2012 Games Market Dynamics: U.S, is available on the NPD Group's website.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now