Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

$83 million pledged to Kickstarter games

$83 million pledged to Kickstarter games

Wed 09 Jan 2013 9:15am GMT / 4:15am EST / 1:15am PST
DevelopmentFinancial

Nearly 3000 gaming projects used the crowdfunding site in 2012

Kickstarter has released its stats for 2012, including that $83,144,565 was pledged by 561,574 backers to gaming projects.

Games and the 2,796 projects submitted in that category saw the most money pledged across the crowdfunding site, beating films, technology and art.

Overall "2,241,475 people pledged a total of $319,786,629 and successfully funded 18,109 projects." 17 of those projects raised over $1 million.

Some of the most notable game projects this year have been Double Fine's, which started the gold rush, Wasteland 2 from InXile and Frontier Developments' Elite: Dangerous.

1 Comment

GREG PABICH President & CEO, ACTIVE ENTERPRISES, LLC

2 2 1.0
KICKSTARTER WAS A GREAT OPPORTUNITY TO RAISE FUNDS FOR AND HELP RE-ESTABLISH THE CHEETAHMEN BRAND, ALTHOUGH
NO ONE SHOULD BEGIN TO BELIEVE THAT IT(THE PROCESS) IS NOT WITHOUT A LOT OF WORK AND MUST HAVE A DEFINITIVE AND WELL EXECUTED PLAN IN PLACE LONG BEFORE LAUNCH DATE...

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now