Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Happy Wars tops 1.2 million players

Happy Wars tops 1.2 million players

Tue 18 Dec 2012 4:37pm GMT / 11:37am EST / 8:37am PST
GamesFree-to-Play

First Xbox Live free-to-play game reaches seven-figure player base in two months

Happy Wars developer Toylogic is a big believer in "the more, the merrier," as the studio today announced the Xbox Live Arcade game has topped 1.2 million players worldwide. The game launched in October as the first free-to-play title to appear on Microsoft's downloadable storefront.

While the game operates on a microtransaction-driven business model, the "free-to-play" moniker has one caveat. Currently, the game is only playable for Xbox Live members with a Gold subscription, which sells for $60 a year.

The developer also announced a new update for the game rolling out today. The holiday patch adds a number of seasonal decorations to the game, as well as a "special challenge" co-op boss battle mode that will only be available for a limited time. The update is also intended to improve matchmaking and online stability.

1 Comment

Hugo Trepanier
Senior UI Designer

155 140 0.9
I presume this figure includes all players since the game's launch, not only currently active ones, and is thus a bit misleading. It will be interesting to see if the free to play model translates well to more typical console experiences. Also, curious to see if they're making any money off of their current player base.

I personally have tried the game for a good half hour but simply did not find it to my taste.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Hugo Trepanier on 18th December 2012 6:23pm

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now