Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Wii U attach rate strong says GameStop

Wii U attach rate strong says GameStop

Thu 15 Nov 2012 6:40pm GMT / 1:40pm EST / 10:40am PST
RetailPublishing

Pre-orders for Wii U games are more than double the number of consoles pre-ordered

GameStop reported in its earnings call that it has been allocated 500,000 Wii U systems (which have all been reserved for pre-orders), and 1.2 million pre-orders for Wii U games have been booked, for an attach rate of 2.4. That's more than double what GameStop saw for the Wii launch, the company said.

GameStop noted the pre-orders were for titles like ZombiU, Assassin's Creed 3, Call of Duty: Black Ops II, Scribblenauts Unlimited and New Super Mario Bros. U. The launch title lineup for the Wii U is stronger than the Wii's initial lineup, which probably accounts for much of the difference.

The attach rate is a key indicator for third-party publishers, who look at that number to help determine whether or not to invest in development for a platform. Nintendo has predicted that the Wii U attach rate will be over 4 for the fiscal year, which analysts find unrealistic. A clearer picture of the attach rate will emerge after the console has been selling for a couple of months.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now