Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

AMD invests in cloud gaming

AMD invests in cloud gaming

Tue 11 Sep 2012 7:59pm GMT / 3:59pm EDT / 12:59pm PDT
BusinessTechnology

Chip maker puts money into CiiNOW as start-up's AMD Radeon-powered turnkey streaming service debuts

AMD

Over the course of AMD's four decades in business, silicon and software have become the steel and plastic...

amd.com

AMD is the latest company to put its head into the clouds, as the chip maker today announced an investment into cloud gaming start-up CiiNOW.

The investment, conducted through the AMD Ventures program, calls for CiiNOW's eponymous service to be powered by AMD Radeon graphics chips. The announcement of the deal coincides with the launch of the CiiNOW platform, which offers publishers scalable hardware and software solutions for game streaming with "ultra-low" latency on multiple platforms.

In announcing the deal, AMD corporate VP of heterogeneous applications and develpoer solutions Manju Hegde said CiiNOW and AMD share the same vision for cloud gaming's future, adding, "AMD's investment signifies our mutual drive to liberate gamers from today's constraints and move us to the next era of digital content."

1 Comment

Andrew Goodchild
Studying development

1,253 418 0.3
So AMD wants people to not have to upgrade graphics cards?

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now