Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA confirms BioWare Austin layoffs date back to May

EA confirms BioWare Austin layoffs date back to May

Tue 17 Jul 2012 8:17pm GMT / 4:17pm EDT / 1:17pm PDT
BusinessPeopleOnline

The restructuring of the Star Wars: The Old Republic team continues

EA BioWare

BioWare develops high quality console, PC and online role-playing games, focused on rich stories, unforgettable...

bioware.com

Although not directly related to Star Wars: The Old Republic producer Rich Vogel's departure today, EA has confirmed that layoffs at developer BioWare Austin have been ongoing since it was announced that the studio would be undergoing restructuring and staff reductions back in May.

A spokesperson for BioWare told GamesIndustry International, "As announced in May and detailed at E3, the BioWare Austin team is refining Star Wars: The Old Republic to continue to grow the game and the service."

"As with the launch of any MMO, the size and skillset of the teams needed to maintain the game is different than the ones that built it. Starting in May, there have been staff reductions in the BioWare Austin studio. Some people have been platooned to other projects at BioWare Austin and EA SPORTS/Austin. Others have been released - qualifying personnel receive severance and outplacement assistance."

"BioWare Austin is currently staffed to ensure the continued delivery of new, high quality game content for The Old Republic, and at a more frequent cadence. In the weeks ahead, we will announce plans for growing SWTOR with new content, new players and new ways to play."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now