Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Cave cancels Vita titles as COO resigns

Cave cancels Vita titles as COO resigns

Wed 16 May 2012 12:54pm GMT / 8:54am EDT / 5:54am PDT
PeopleDevelopment

Mikio Watanabe quits shooter specialist as Vita support wanes

Cave COO Mikio Watanabe has announced his resignation from the Japanese developer, just as the software house announced that it has cancelled its two in-development titles for Sony Vita.

Watanabe also serves as vice president and representative director. His resignation, which cited personal reasons, will take effect on May 31. Ito Masahito, CEO, will become the comapny's sole representative director, reports Andriasang.

Last year, Cave had detailed social title Shirotsuku, which was planning to utilise the Vita's location services and other unique features in a samurai city building game, as well as a second Vita title.

This second title was as yet undetailed, but was indicative of the company's support for the struggling platform, which sits consistently low on the Japanese hardware chart.

It's unknown if the two incidents are related.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now