Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Angry Birds hits 1 billion downloads

Angry Birds hits 1 billion downloads

Wed 09 May 2012 4:57pm GMT / 12:57pm EDT / 9:57am PDT
MobileBusiness

People can't seem to get enough of Angry Birds

Rovio has confirmed that the Angry Birds franchise has surpassed 1 billion downloads. These downloads include all versions of the game, such as Angry Birds, Angry Birds Seasons, Angry Birds Rio and the newly launched Angry Birds Space.

The original Angry Birds launched less than three years ago and has developed into a phenomenon in the mobile space. Last year, Rovio saw revenues of $106 million with earnings of $67.6 million.

Rovio has revolutionized the way that mobile developers can be successful using merchandising/licensing, with those two areas contributing about 30 percent of total sales in 2011. With more than 200 licensing partners, the brand of Angry Birds is expected to be bigger than ever in 2012.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now