Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

World of Tanks celebrates 24 million users

World of Tanks celebrates 24 million users

Thu 12 Apr 2012 9:15pm GMT / 5:15pm EDT / 2:15pm PDT
OnlineFree-to-Play

The free-to-play tank MMO hits a new milestone with its recent expansion into Asia Pacific

Publisher Wargaming.net has announced that its premier free-to-play MMO, World of Tanks, has reached more than 24 million registered players since its launch on April 12, 2011. With servers currently in North America, Europe, Russia, China, and Asia Pacific, players have played more than 350 million battles.

"Our growth over the last year has been nothing short of amazing," said Victor Kislyi, CEO of Wargaming.net.

"A year ago, no one in the company could possibly imagine that World of Tanks would have skyrocketed like this. As the growth dynamics show, the game isn't slowing down anytime soon. We have massive expectations for the upcoming year, and we'll continue to drive game development that will keep our players engaged and excited."

World of Tanks players are currently expecting patch 7.3, which will add two new maps and more premium tanks.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now