Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Charles Tigges joins PlayJam as CCO

Charles Tigges joins PlayJam as CCO

Tue 03 Apr 2012 2:15pm GMT / 10:15am EDT / 7:15am PDT
People

Ex-BBC TV business development head joins TV gaming company

TV gaming organisation PlayJam has announced that the BBC's former head of TV business development will be joining the company as Chief Commercial Officer.

Charles Tigges joins several high-profile recent hires at the outfit, including GameStop President Tony Bartel, Charles Huang - co founder of Red Octane, and Chris Lee, co-founder of FreeStyleGames and Media Molecule. All of these figures are now part of PlayJam's advisory team.

Whilst at the BBC, Tigges helped to promote and develop the corporation's iPlayer service, as well as interactive TV services for sport and news programs.

The next big wave of TV innovation will almost certainly come from gaming.

Charles Tigges, PlayJam CCO

"I'm excited to leverage my expertise in developing digital media services and helping to shape TV Gaming on a global scale," said Tigges.

"The next big wave of TV innovation will almost certainly come from gaming. Jasper and his team have shown great foresight by attracting investors, many developers and almost all major CE vendors in this rapidly growing industry."

"It's great to see the teams that defined the first generation of Smart TV are moving on to shape the next," added PlayJam CEO Jasper Smith.

"Charles has an in-depth understanding of the industry and an enormous respect within it; we are pleased to welcome him to the PlayJam team where he will play a central role in shaping the future of games on TV."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now