Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Angry Birds cartoon coming to "all possible platforms"

Angry Birds cartoon coming to "all possible platforms"

Mon 02 Apr 2012 5:34pm GMT / 1:34pm EDT / 10:34am PDT
Mobile

Rovio further extends Angry Birds brand with new weekly cartoon

Hit cultural sensation Angry Birds, having already invaded commercial retail, is now looking to invade "all platforms possible" with an animated cartoon show centered on the different characters used within the games.

Rovio has already made much of the show possible, detailing a planned 52-episode first season. Speaking at a press conference, as reported by the BBC, Rovio animation head Nick Dorra confirmed that the Angry Birds studio would be working to get distribution not just on TV, but as many places as possible. Whether or not this platform penetration means putting Angry Birds on various gaming consoles, Netflix, Hulu and other services remains to be seen.

"Angry Birds is not just about the gameplay," said Dorra, who suggested that the push for Rovio was "less and less about the slingshot and more about the characters and their adventures and all different kinds of games in different forms."

The newest addition to the franchise, Angry Birds Space, quickly hit 10 million downloads. There's been no slowing down for Rovio, which recently announced a Stockholm expansion, an acquisition of Futuremark Games, and said recently that it no longer views itself "as a game company." The firm believes it can become the next Disney.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now