Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GOG.com looking to sign new releases in 2012

Thu 17 Nov 2011 5:12pm GMT / 12:12pm EST / 9:12am PST
RetailOnline

DRM-free download service will hit 400 games and add exclusive titles to service

The DRM-free download service GOG.com is aiming for 400 available titles by the end of 2012, including new games.

"Traditionally, GOG.com has looked for great classics that are three years old or older," said MD Guillaume Rambourg at the CD Projekt RED Conference.

"We will continue to add classic games, of course, but we are actively working to sign newer titles now. These new titles will have to come at a new, higher price point, but our key focus will always be on the same core values that have made GOG.com great so far."

As well as 400 titles by the end of next year, Rambourg promised new partners and franchises for the digital distribution service. And working with the developers that have been approaching GOG.com.

"We want to work closely with ambitious developers and independent publishers who feel a kinship with that 'good old spirit' that GOG.com embodies," added Rambourg.

"They are coming to GOG and asking if we can carry their titles. We've made GOG.com the destination for classic PC games, but now is the time to take this to the next level and emerge as the best alternative digital distribution platform for all PC games."

GOG.com is a Polish distribution service owned by CD Projekt. It offers games free of digital rights management, as well as wallpapers and content from various titles. It was launched in 2008, and currently supports around 325 games.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now