Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Image Metrics brings avatar creation to social games

Wed 21 Sep 2011 8:35am GMT / 4:35am EDT / 1:35am PDT
Developer ToolsSocial Network

PortableYou to be integrated into social studio Arkadium's future projects

Facial animation company Image Metrics will integrate its PortableYou avatar creation platform into social studio Arkadium's future games.

PortableYou allows users to create high quality, customisable avatars from photographs. The avatars can then be shared across multiple connected applications and platforms, including social and mobile games, MMOs and social networks.

"PortableYou brings a whole new dimension of personalisation to games," said Image Metrics CEO Robert Gehorsam in a statement.

"Arkadium's large library of titles, as well as the reach of its online network of games, helps a broad audience gain exposure to PortableYou. Our partnership represents the next step toward bringing our groundbreaking new avatar creation technology to the forefront of casual, social and mobile gaming."

Image Metrics products are widely used by AAA game developers, including Sony, EA, Rockstar, Ubisoft, Bethesda, Activision and Epic Games.

Arkadium's products reach a combined audience of 9 million online players. The company also claims ownership of the world's largest library of Flash games. Arkadium will begin implementing PortableYou into selected games in early 2012.

Image Metrics expanded its capabilities by acquiring Character-FX and FacePro last year. It also purchased the avatar creation company Big Stage in February.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now