Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Cut the Rope passes 2 million sales

Thu 28 Oct 2010 7:30am GMT / 3:30am EDT / 12:30am PDT
Mobile

Chillingo's golden touch continues to shine following EA acquisition

Electronic Arts has announced that iPhone hit Cut the Rope, published by its newly-acquired division Chillingo, has now passed 2 million sales on the Apple App Store since launching just three weeks ago.

The game was already the fastest-selling title on the platform, having sold 1 million within ten days of release, and Chillingo co-general manager Chris Byatte attributes some of the ongoing sales success to the acquisition by EA last week.

"Cut the Rope continues to break records with leading, international sales," he said. "Our new partnership with EA enables us to expand Om Nom's prospects, visibility and reach to make more of an impact than ever before."

And Efim Voinov, CTO of the game's developer - ZeptoLab - was also complimentary of the new set-up.

"Chillingo has done a great job for us in publishing Cut the Rope on the Apple App Store," he said. "Now with their acquisition by EA, we see more growth opportunities available for us in the future."

That contrasts with comments made by Rovio boss Peter Vesterbacka, who - even after the success of Angry Birds (published by Chillingo) - stated that the developer wouldn't be working with the company again following EA's purchase.

EA absorbed Chillingo for a price thought to be around $20 million in cash, plus an undisclosed amount of other considerations, as it continues to seek a greater presence on non-traditional platforms such as the iPhone.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now