Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Xbox Live Arcade revenues up 67 per cent

Mon 29 Sep 2008 7:38am GMT / 3:38am EDT / 12:38am PDT
Retail

Summer of Arcade releases see level of unique members purchasing titles jump by 58 per cent

Microsoft has announced that it saw a 58 per cent increase in unique members purchasing titles on Xbox Live Arcade during its five-week Summer of Arcade program.

The period saw a number of high profile titles released on the downloadable service, including Castle Crashers, Geometry Wars: Retro Evolved 2, Bionic Commando: Rearmed and Braid. Microsoft further announced that August broke the monthly revenue high by 67 per cent.

"At E3, we committed to re-focusing the Xbox Live Arcade business, vowing to release bigger and better games while focusing on quality and not quantity," said Marc Whitten, general manager of Xbox Live.

"The debut of the new strategy proved to be a huge success, with the Summer of Arcade making August the highest grossing month to date. But the focus on quality games doesn't stop with the Summer of Arcade. We have plenty more great titles coming out in the next few months and beyond that we think will continue to fuel this incredible momentum."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now