Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Xbox 360 to get external Blu-ray disc drive - report

Wed 08 Oct 2008 4:17pm GMT / 12:17pm EDT / 9:17am PDT
Hardware

Rumoured price to be between $100 - $150

According to a new media report, the Xbox 360 will soon be getting an external Blu-ray disc drive.

Toshiba-Samsung Storage Technology Corp has already has been contracted by Microsoft to manufacture the device, reports Xbit Labs, with a rumoured price of between USD 100 and USD 150.

Rumours of a Blu-ray drive, Blu-ray movie player, or even Xbox 360 with built-in Blu-ray tech have been numerous ever since the Microsoft canned its HD-DVD player for the console.

However, Microsoft has always maintained Blu-ray is unnecessary as the games business moves towards a digital download model, with senior Xbox exec telling GamesIndustry.biz earlier this year that storage discs will become a "historic phenomenon".

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now