Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

WiiWare developers saddled with high sales requirements

Wed 15 Apr 2009 8:15am GMT / 4:15am EDT / 1:15am PDT
Development

Report suggests some indie devs receive little to no revenue from their titles as sales fall below expectations

Indie developers working on WiiWare titles have to overcome significant sales thresholds in order receive any revenue from their work.

Nintendo supposedly requires a minimum number of sales per territory in order for a WiiWare developer to recoup any money at all. This threshold is said to be a high four figure number for the US and low four figure number for individual EU territories, according to Gamasutra.

It is thought the threshold was instituted to prevent shovelware titles flooding the market, but the lack of ability for developers to offer demos and limited storage space means that many titles could be selling below initial expectations.

The videogames giant told our sister site Eurogamer.net that the threshold was "rumour and speculation".

Adding: "The terms, conditions and contracts between Nintendo and developers are a private and confidential matter."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now