Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Wii to release in Taiwan July 12

Thu 26 Jun 2008 7:55am GMT / 3:55am EDT / 12:55am PDT
Hardware

Official launch date set for Nintendo's home console

Nintendo has announced that the Wii home console will officially launch in Taiwan on July 12.

While the official launch is scheduled for next month, the home system has been on sale in the region for some time with stores importing the system and even selling the hardware with illegal mod chips.

The console first went on sale in Japan in November 2006, and has so far clocked up worldwide sales of over 25 million units.

Rival consoles from Sony and Microsoft launched in the region during 2006, with Microsoft's Xbox 360 benefiting from a price cut in Taiwan earlier this year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now