Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

UK gamers hit out at Rock Band pricing

Tue 08 Apr 2008 11:12am GMT / 7:12am EDT / 4:12am PDT
Games

Consumers brand GBP 180 price point as "shameful" and "a joke" for title which costs less than half that in the US

Following the news this morning that Electronic Arts has confirmed the pricing structure for Rock Band in the UK, gamers have expressed anger at the cost difference between regions.

Among the milder comments posted as first reaction to the price on Eurogamer.net were:

  • "At least Dick Turpin had the courtesy to wear a mask,"
  • "That's just disgustingly shameful, in all respects."
  • "What a joke. Months late and double the price. No sale."

Rock Band has a recommended retail price of GBP 180 when you factor in the instruments and the boxed copy of the game - a combination that would cost just USD 169 in the US, or around GBP 85 - less than half the price.

Additionally the title is region-locked for the Xbox 360, so anybody hoping to beat the price difference by importing from the US will be disappointed.

EA had not responded to requests for comment at time of writing.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now