Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Tories blast UK govt for "failing games industry"

Wed 11 Feb 2009 1:25pm GMT / 8:25am EST / 5:25am PST
Politics

Ed Vaisey MP echoes Tiga dissatisfaction at WTO "red herring" and "sham"

The Conservative Party has issued a statement blasting the government's actions with respect to the long term health of the games industry in the UK, labelling the World Trade Organisation referral a "red herring" and "nothing more than a sham".

"The Government's strategy for videogames has been shown to be nothing more than a sham," said Ed Vaizey MP, shadow videogames spokesman. "For months, whenever we have pressed the Government for action, they have used the excuse that the issue had been referred to the WTO. Now they no longer have this excuse.

"As the games industry itself says, the Government now 'stands naked, bereft of a credible fiscal policy with which to support the sector,'" he added.

Tiga's Dr Richard Wilson earlier released a statement condemning the play, and noting that the only feasible way to help the UK industry now was a policy of tax breaks, in order to level the playing field.

"The Government must act now to support an industry that is world-beating, job-creating and at the heart of our creative industries," continued Vaizey. "After nine reviews of the creative industries, and eight more in the pipeline, the Government's dithering has now been exposed as causing real damage."

1 Comment

Ah, but the Tories are just as bad. I despair of politicians, I really do.

when it does come, it'll be way too little, way too late.

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now