Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Slow GTA IV sales to trouble EA/Take-Two talks?

Fri 12 Sep 2008 8:59am GMT / 4:59am EDT / 1:59am PDT
Publishing

Title's slower than expected unit sales could impact upon publisher's ongoing acquisition negotiations

NPD data suggests that sales of Grand Theft Auto IV may be foundering against high expectations, with consequences for Take-Two as it argues for a better deal from Electronic Arts, according to CNN Money.

The two publishers are currently in confidential negotiations following a failed attempt at a USD 2 billion acquisition, which Take-Two claimed substantially under-valued the company. The publisher argued that its position was supported by the success of GTA IV, which sales would hit USD 500 million in its first week.

However, NPD Data shows that GTA IV was the 46th best-selling game in August, down from 45th place in July. The slowing sales have caused concerns that, with 8.5 million units sold to date, the title may fail to meet sales expectations.

This comes as software sales results from NPD showed a growth of 13 per cent, much lower than analysts had predicted earlier in the week.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now