Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sims reaches 100 million milestone

Wed 16 Apr 2008 7:00am GMT / 3:00am EDT / 12:00am PDT

Electronic Arts has announced that the Sims franchise has sold 100 million copies worldwide since 2000

Electronic Arts has announced that The Sims has sold 100 million units worldwide.

The first game in the series appeared in 2000, and the franchise has gone on to become the best-selling PC game franchise of all time according to its publisher. It is sold in 22 languages and 60 countries around the world.

4.3 million unique visitors are attracted to The Sims 2 online community each month, and they have downloaded more than 70 million user-generated creations. In addition, more than 100,000 videos and movies of The Sims have been shared on YouTube.

"At this milestone, we want to thank players of The Sims everywhere for making The Sims such a worldwide phenomenon," said Rod Humble, head of studio for The Sims Label.

"The Sims has been an interactive experience for people around the globe to explore their passion for creativity and we're thrilled to be a part of that.

"From building houses and relationships, from the first kiss to a toddler's first step, from kitchen fires – and even visits from ghosts, players have told more than 100 million unique and fun stories!"

Visitors to TheSims2.com website on April 16 can download a complimentary exclusive outfit for their Sims in honour of the milestone.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now