Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Senior EDGE staff quit

Thu 30 Oct 2003 4:03pm GMT / 11:03am EST / 8:03am PST

Two senior members of the editorial staff at specialist gaming magazine EDGE have resigned this week.

The editor and deputy editor of respected specialist gaming magazine EDGE have resigned this week, gi.biz has learned, and sources close to the magazine suggest that more resignations may follow.

It's not currently known why editor Joao Diniz-Sanches left the publication, but deputy editor David McCarthy, speaking to gi.biz this evening, said he was leaving "for personal reasons".

Despite its lofty status amongst hardcore gamers and industry figures alike, EDGE still only enjoys a readership of some 27,315 according to its most recent January-June 2003 audit by the ABC, which puts it behind many of Future's specialist single-format mags and miles behind the likes of Official PlayStation 2 Magazine-UK.

It is not yet known who will succeed Diniz-Sanches and McCarthy, but Future's policy is generally to promote from within.

Gi.biz contacted Future for clarification and comment, but the publisher has so far declined.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now