Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Richard Wilson named TIGA CEO

Thu 31 Jan 2008 2:31am GMT / 9:31pm EST / 6:31pm PST

Richard Wilson was unveiled as the new CEO of TIGA, The Independent Game Developers Association, at the trade body's annual awards dinner

Richard Wilson was unveiled as the new CEO of TIGA, The Independent Game Developers Association, at the trade body's annual awards dinner.

Wilson, who takes up the position in March, succeeds current CEO Fred Hasson.

"The appointments board was unanimous in selecting Richard for the post," said TIGA chairman Ian Baverstock.

"He, like our current CEO Fred Hasson, has no previous games industry experience but has an impressive public affairs background and understands issues relating to industrial sectors.

"We think he has the right qualities to build on TIGA's achievements to date and take the organisation forward."

The games development sector is one of the UKÔs major economic success stories, with record sales in 2007. According to TIGA, the UK is the fourth largest developer of games in the world in terms of revenue generation, contributing 30 per cent of the country's media exports and directly employing nearly 9,000 people.

"I am delighted to have been appointed CEO of TIGA. It is a lean, innovative and effective trade association that does a magnificent job in serving the interests of UK games developers," Wilson said.

"Fred Hasson has been an outstanding CEO and it is an honour to follow him in this role. I am looking forward to campaigning vigorously on behalf of TIGA members, further enhancing TIGA's effectiveness and raising the profile of the UK games development sector."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now