Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Record demand for Nordic Game funding

Thu 10 Apr 2008 8:17am GMT / 4:17am EDT / 1:17am PDT
Events

Applications for the programme totalled DKK 38 million, almost thirteen times more than the amount actually available

Nordic Game Program

The Nordic Game Program includes the Nordic Game conference and Career Expo, Nordic Game activities at...

nordicgame.com

The Nordic Game Program has announced that it received a record level on interest as applications for its DKK 3 million funding scheme skyrocketed.

The total level of funding requests came to DKK 38 million, almost thirteen times more than is actually available, from 75 countries spread across the region.

The highest number of applications came from Sweden with 24 requests for funding, while 19 were from Finland, 18 came from Denmark, 10 were from Norway and the remaining four came from Iceland and the Faroe Islands.

Erik Robertson, head of the Nordic Game Program, expressed his delight at the interest in the scheme.

"Once again we are pleased, proud and a bit overwhelmed to have received so many applications," he said. "Of course, DKK 3 million doesn't stretch that far, especially when the total applied for is almost 38 million.

"So the expert panel faces a major and difficult task when it comes to evaluating the projects. Still, it is fantastically encouraging to see that there is such great interest in developing computer games all over the Nordic Region – and also that the smaller nations and autonomous territories are now getting involved too."

That expert panel will now decide how to split up the DKK 3 million and the recipients will be announced during the Nordic Game event in Malmo on May 14-15 this year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now