Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Quake coming to 3D-enabled mobile handsets

Mon 27 Jun 2005 4:54pm GMT / 12:54pm EDT / 9:54am PDT

id Software, the creator of blockbuster first-person shooter Quake, has signed a deal with publisher Pulse Interactive to produce a new version of the game for mobile phones.

Quake Mobile is being developed by Bare Naked Productions for a new generation of handsets which feature dedicated 3D graphics hardware, allowing the phones to display complex 3D environments and objects. The game will be a "faithful conversion" of the PC original, which was first released in 1996.

"Quake Mobile takes all of the action, game play, and atmosphere of the groundbreaking original and puts it right in the palm of your hands," said id CEO Todd Hollenshead.

He promised that the game "pushes the envelope of today's mobile handsets, and offers gamers a fun and addictive on-the-go entertainment experience. We're already looking forward to the first mobile deathmatch."

Pulse Interactive president Paul Trowe commented: "Forget miniature golf and puzzle games, Quake is going to take mobile gaming to a whole new level."

"[The game] will not only satisfy hardcore players, but also create a whole new generation of fans around the world."

The first 3D-enabled mobile phones are due to hit the market this summer, and Quake Mobile will be featured as an embedded game on a new handset launching in July.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now