Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PS3 sales tumble in Japan as Metal Gear effect drops off

Fri 27 Jun 2008 7:47am GMT / 3:47am EDT / 12:47am PDT
Hardware

But Sony still leads hardware sales with impressive PSP numbers

Sales of the PlayStation 3 have dropped in Japan following last week's boost for the system after the release of Konami's Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots.

Hardware numbers from Media Create show the PS3 shifted 20,336 units for the week ended June 22, compared to over 75,000 units last week.

However, Sony can still claim the best-selling hardware in the region, as the PSP handheld sold 59,351 units in the past week, more than Nintendo's Wii (41,037) and DS (36,599).

The nine year-old PlayStation 2 continues to outsell Microsoft's Xbox 360, with 6,346 units compared to 2,555 units.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now