Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

No Sony TGS press conference, despite reports

Thu 09 Oct 2008 9:59am GMT / 5:59am EDT / 2:59am PDT
Events

Company showing a number of specific titles, but no surprise event

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony has told our sister site Eurogamer.net that it has no plans to put on a Tokyo Game Show press conference, despite reports to the contrary.

The platform holder's Japanese video website specifically lists "SCEJ Press Conference 10/9".

But while the company is expected to show a number of new titles, two separate sources at Sony Europe have denied it, including one currently in Japan for TGS, who said his colleagues looked baffled when he raised the subject.

CESA, the company that runs the show, also makes no mention of such an event on its website.

Sony had briefed Japanese press about a few items, including the direct PSP Store, which is perhaps what the Sony site listing refers to.

With a number of first-party PS3 titles promised at TGS but as yet unseen, however, there is room for a few more unveilings, if nothing else.

Tomorrow, the company plans to demonstrate White Knight Story (White Knight Chronicles in Japan) in a product-specific presentation.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now