Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Nintendo warns software trade prices may also rise

Wed 11 Mar 2009 3:27pm GMT / 11:27am EDT / 8:27am PDT
Retail

But no DS hardware price rises for foreseeable future

Nintendo has not ruled out a rise in prices for new software releases in the UK, due to the depreciation of the pound.

Although trade prices for titles currently on the market will not change, there is a possibility of new releases being hit with a price hike.

"The final price in the shops is always up to retailers but we will not be increasing the trade price of existing Wii or DS software," offered Nintendo.

"However, the trade prices for new titles yet to be released may rise as a result of the depreciation of the pound."

Wii hardware trade prices are already set to rise in the UK, "due to unprecedented and sustained depreciation of the pound," said Nintendo.

However, the DSi – due for release early next month – and the current DS model, will not be affected, said the company.

"The present exchange rate was taken into consideration when we announced the trade price of DSi to retailers across Europe."

"At this time, we do not expect to have to change the trade price we charge to retailers for the DSi or DS price in the UK in the foreseeable future."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now