Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo unveils new DSi console

Thu 02 Oct 2008 5:17am GMT / 1:17am EDT / 10:17pm PDT
Hardware

Games to be downloaded directly to smaller handheld console; system to launch November 1 in Japan

Nintendo has taken the wraps off its new DS system, the DSi, during a press conference in Tokyo today.

The handheld will be priced at JPY 18,900 (USD 179 / EUR 129 / GBP 101) and will be launched on November 1.

The DSi features a built-in web browser, enabling users to download games and store them on the console.

An online DSi Shop will allow users to purchase DSiWare priced between 200 and 800 points, with customers getting 1000 points free until March 2010.

The handheld boasts a 0.3 megapixel camera, and better audio capabilities including the ability to adjust pitch and playback.

With a slot for SD memory cards, users are able to take photographs on the DSi and transfer them to the Wii home console.

The new model has slightly larger screens at 3.25 inches and is 12 per cent thinner, but the slot for Game Boy Advance cartridges has been removed.

The new model will come in black and white colours.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now