Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo to sue DS piracy importers

Tue 29 Jul 2008 9:34am GMT / 5:34am EDT / 2:34am PDT
Publishing

Platform holders pulls in support from over 50 companies to halt sale of piracy devices

Nintendo is leading a lawsuit against five companies which import and sell DS piracy devices such as the R4 cartridge.

Backed by Japanese firms including Capcom, SNK, Taito, Tecmo and Square Enix, the company aims to put a stop to the marketing, sale and importing of the Chinese-made hardware and software, reports Kotaku.

The devices are readily available from multiple internet retailers such as Amazon and auction sites like eBay, and allow users to download hacked files to a memory card which is then slot into the DS using a specially made cartridge.

Nintendo said that such piracy "is causing severe damage to our company and software makers, and this is something that we cannot possibly overlook."

The lawsuit has been filed with the Tokyo District Court and is for Japan only.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now