Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo now offering Wii Internet Channel for free

By Matt Martin

Tue 01 Sep 2009 10:15am GMT / 6:15am EDT / 3:15am PDT

Users who have paid for service offered NES title as compensation

Nintendo has dropped any fees for the Wii Internet Channel as of today, with the service free to all users.

Users who have previously paid the 500 Wii Points to download the channel will be offered a free NES game, to be launched in October.

The Wii Internet Channel was originally free when the console first went on sale, and became a paid-for download once the browser and service had been finalised following consumer feedback.

The channel users the Opera browser, a version of which is also used for internet access on the DS handheld.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now