Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Nintendo finally drops Wii price in US, Japan

Thu 24 Sep 2009 2:14am GMT / 10:14pm EDT / 7:14pm PDT
BusinessRetail

Nintendo lowers price to predicted $199 price point beginning September 27 in North America

Nintendo has finally dropped the price of the Wii home console in Japan and North America.

Beginning September 27, US consumers will be able to buy the hardware for USD 199.99, USD 50 cheaper than it's previous RRP.

Japanese consumers will have to wait until October 1 for the price cut, with the system dropping from JPY 25,000 to JPY 20,000.

"Wii has reached more videogame players than any game system before because it attracts everyone—both men and women, and people of all ages," said Cammie Dunaway, Nintendo of America’s executive vice president of Sales and Marketing.

"Our research shows there are 50 million Americans thinking about becoming gamers, and this more affordable price point and our vast array of new software mean many of them can now make the leap and find experiences that appeal to them, whatever their tastes or level of gaming experience."

The move marks the first time that Nintendo has cut the price of the Wii since is was first introduced in Japan in November 2006.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now