Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo confirms 2011 release for 3DS

Mon 28 Jun 2010 8:22am GMT / 4:22am EDT / 1:22am PDT
Hardware

Hopes of Christmas launch fade as Fils-Amie tells TV host "next year"

Nintendo of America President Reggie Fils-Aime has stated that the Nintendo 3DS handheld will not launch until 2011.

While in prior statements the compant had claimed the portable would hit retail before the end of its fiscal year in March, in an appearance on US talkshow Late Night With Jimmy Fallon, Fils-Aime categorically said "It's coming out next year. We cannot wait."

There had been speculation that the glasses-free 3D device would arrive in the US and Europe in time for Christmas. This may remain the case for Japan, but with Fils-Aime not naming a month or season, the handheld may be some time off for the West.

Chatshow host Fallon was clearly very taken with the 3DS, repeatedly exclaiming "it's crazy," though Fils-Amie did not allow him to keep the handheld.

1 Comment

Private
Industry

1,187 185 0.2
Not sure a comment on a TV show is valid as 100% evidence in that case they would have said 2011 at the E3 instead of this fiscal year.

Fallon was also impressed with Killzone 3 in 3D.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now