Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nielsen: 10% of online time spent gaming

Wed 04 Aug 2010 9:36am GMT / 5:36am EDT / 2:36am PDT
Online

Americans spend 407m hours per month in online games, but only 329m emailing

Americans spend 10 per cent of their time online playing games - second only to the amount of hours they put into social networking.

New figures from Nielsen reveal that gaming is an increasingly major online pursuit, having now leapt ahead of time spent emailing.

In total, online gamers racked up 407 million hours per month, with social networking and blogs constituting 906 million hours.

"Despite the almost unlimited nature of what you can do on the web," said Nielsen's Dave Martin, "40 per cent of U.S. online time is spent on just three activities - social networking, playing games and emailing leaving a whole lot of other sectors fighting for a declining share of the online pie."

However, while gaming and social networking were the top named web pursuits, an amorphous "other" constituted 34.3 per cent of time online.

3 Comments

Private Industry

1,176 182 0.2
I take it others is downloading? Can`t think of anything else that`s not already listed there.

Curious to know how they came up with the numbers if it`s similar to how they get the TV ratings.

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Sergiy Rykin

1 0 0.0
try shopping, research and of course naughty things :)

Posted:4 years ago

#2

Private Industry

1,176 182 0.2
Isn`t naughty things already included in the Movie/Video section? :) Otherwise that would fall as well probably into the download category

Posted:4 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now