Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

MS games not suitable for handheld, says Kim

Thu 15 May 2008 8:38am GMT / 4:38am EDT / 1:38am PDT
Business

Microsoft Game Studios' corporate VP Shane Kim says he is "very happy" it hasn't made a handheld games console

Microsoft Game Studios corporate VP Shane Kim has said he is "very happy" the company hasn't made a handheld games console partly because the games Microsoft produces aren't suitable for that market.

"I'm very happy we didn't get into it, because launching a handheld platform is like launching another Xbox 360. You have to be fully committed, as an organisation, from a resource standpoint, to doing that," he told Eurogamer.net during an interview.

"Frankly we've got a lot on our plate with Xbox 360 and Xbox Live. We don't have any experience in that space. Our content assets don't naturally lend themselves to driving success in that particular market. So we're happy to let Sony and Nintendo slog it out."

"Mobile is probably the more important platform in the future," Kim went on to say.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now