Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft launches Games for Windows Live 3.0

Thu 06 Aug 2009 11:02am GMT / 7:02am EDT / 4:02am PDT
Online

Update introduces new in-game Marketplace and added anti-piracy protection

Microsoft has rolled out a brand-new version of Games for Windows - Live.

Its in-game Marketplace heads the bill, allowing users to both buy and install extra content without exiting games, reports our sister site Eurogamer.

Live accounts, therefore, can also be managed in-game; Microsoft Points can be bought, card details tweaked, Gamertags changed and codes redeemed.

Microsoft has also taken the opportunity to add some anti-piracy measures to Games for Windows - Live, the first of which is server-side authentication, which links Gamertags to game licences so a PC game can be installed anywhere the Gamertag goes. It's a feature which won't affect offline play, according to Microsoft.

The other measure is zero-day piracy protection, which has Games for Windows - Live preventing games being played before actual release.

Full details of the update, and the option to download it, can be found now on the official website.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now