Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft bans "small percentage" of Live accounts

Wed 11 Nov 2009 12:33pm GMT / 7:33am EST / 4:33am PST
OnlinePublishing

Platform holder acts to prevent modded consoles and pirated games played online

Microsoft has banned a number of Xbox Live accounts from the online service in a bid to prevent the owners of modded consoles using the service.

The platform holder warned last week it would be suspending access to Xbox Live for anybody who had modified their console in order to play pirated discs, although the action won't prevent people from playing games offline.

Although the company declined to release specific numbers, some reports have placed the amount of accounts banned at 600,000 of the 20 million-plus total.

"We have taken action against a small percentage of consoles have been modified to play pirated game discs," Microsoft told GamesIndustry.biz today. "In line with our commitment to combat piracy and support safer and more secure gameplay for the more than 20 million members of our Xbox Live community, we are suspending these modded consoles from Xbox Live."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now