Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Lionsgate expects Wii movie streaming this year

Thu 12 Mar 2009 2:15pm GMT / 10:15am EDT / 7:15am PDT
Publishing

Home consoles will drive digital delivery of film content, says exec

Lionsgate's president of digital media, Curt Marvis, has said that he expects the Wii to offer a movie streaming service in the US as soon as this year.

The company already has a close relationship with Microsoft and Sony, delivering content via Xbox Live and PSN, respectively.

"The thing that is clearly a force in digital are the game devices," said Marvis to Variety.

"I think when we see the Wii come into the market with the ability to stream movies, which I think is maybe going to happen as soon as this year, I think that’s going to be a big marketplace for digital distribution," offered the movie exec.

Nintendo has not announced any such digital plans, and unlike the PS3 and Xbox 360 does not have a significantly large enough storage solution on the Wii for large downloads, although streaming content on the console is possible.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now