Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kalypso grabs Ascaron assets, founds new studio

Thu 04 Jun 2009 8:56am GMT / 4:56am EDT / 1:56am PDT
BusinessPublishing

German publisher creates new studio headed by ex-Ascaron staff

German publisher Kalypso Media has confirmed that the company has acquired "most" brands, intangible assets and exploitation rights of the now insolvent Ascaron Entertainment.

Franchises covered by the agreement include DarkStar One, Patrician and Port Royale. However, some existing license agreements will remain with Ascaron UK until they run out.

At the same time Kalypso has formed a new studio with ex-Ascaron designers Kay Struve and Daniel Dumont. Kalypso will hold a majority share in the new studio, which will employ 12 ex-Ascaron staff working on both console and PC titles.

"We are very proud of this deal, which allows us to continue the development of well-known brands, to create a high potential of further growth and to secure some of the team's jobs as well," said Kalypso managing director Simon Hellwig.

Ascaron Entertainment, which was also headquartered in Germany, filed for bankruptcy in April of this year. The company is best known for titles such as the recent Sacred 2: Fallen Angel and also had a development studio in Birmingham.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now