Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Japanese games market shrinks 6.9% in 2009

Tue 05 Jan 2010 12:15pm GMT / 7:15am EST / 4:15am PST
Retail

Hardware sales decline 13% year-on-year, software sales down 1.8%

Enterbrain figures have shown the Japanese games market generated JPY 542.6 billion (USD 5.9 billion) in 2009 - a 6.9 per cent decline on last year.

Specifically, hardware sales declined 13.6 per cent to JPY 216.5 billion (USD 2.3 billion) and software sales were down 1.8 per cent to JPY 326.2 billion (USD 3.5 billion), according to the numbers (translated by Andriasang).

The figures also gave a break down of the top five best selling software and hardware for the year, where Dragon Quest IX on DS came out on top of the former with sales of over 4.1 million, and the Nintendo DS topped the latter, with sales that just tipped 4 million.

While Nintendo games dominated the top software sellers, Square Enix's Final Fantasy XIII managed to claim fifth position, despite its release late in the year.

The full top five top selling games were as follows:

  • 01 Dragon Quest IX - 4,100,968
  • 02 Pokemon Heart Gold/Soul Silver - 3,382,597
  • 03 New Super Mario Bros Wii - 2,485,150
  • 04 Friend Collection - 2,311,948
  • 05 Final Fantasy XIII - 1,698,256

The top hardware chart (which combines the different console models into one category) was as follows:

  • 01 Nintendo DS - 4,025,313
  • 02 Sony PSP - 2,307,971
  • 03 Nintendo Wii - 1,975,178
  • 04 Sony PlayStation 3 - 1,727,041
  • 05 Microsoft Xbox 360 - 331,706

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now