Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Intel invests in games-on-demand HDTV service

Fri 25 Sep 2009 8:41am GMT / 4:41am EDT / 1:41am PDT
BusinessHardwareDevelopment

GameTree to offer games for sale, rent and subscription via set-top boxes, due Q2 2010

Intel has invested in GameTree.tv, a games-on-demand service for high definition TVs due to hit screens in Q2 2010.

Developed by Canada's TransGaming, the HDTV service will deliver on-demand gaming through consumer electronics and set-top boxes, and is based on Intel CE Media Processors.

"Innovation is at the heart of TransGaming's GameTree.tv Service which represents the culmination of technology, user experience, and the economic model required to realise sustainable innovation in the digital home," commented Vikas Gupta, CEO of TransGaming.

"We are extremely pleased to be working with Intel on this important and exciting initiative. We are driving new monetisation models for content developers, OEMs, and operators around the world."

TransGaming said it is working with "leading game publishers and content creators" on a range of games for the service, which will offer titles for sale, rental and subscription. The company already partners with Electronic Arts and Ubisoft, amongst others.

"The GameTree.TV service provides the platform to bring PC games to TV, which in turn offers new opportunities to the consumer electronics industry," said Eric Kim, SVP of the Intel Digital Home Group.

"Consumers will ultimately benefit from this innovation, as they will enjoy a broad library of games in their living room."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now