Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Guild Wars series sells 6 million units

Fri 24 Apr 2009 10:06am GMT / 6:06am EDT / 3:06am PDT
Online

Four years on the market, MMO reaches significant milestone

NCsoft

NCsoft is a leading developer and publisher of online games.

A gaming powerhouse with a global reach,...

ncsoft.net

NCsoft and ArenaNet's MMO series Guild Wars has sold over six million units, the publisher has announced.

The franchise originally launched in 2005, and will celebrate four years of play on April 28.

"We are humbled by how gamers have responded to Guild Wars over the past four years, and we are proud that the game and its community have helped to continually shape, define, and expand the genre," commented ArenaNet studio head Mike O’Brien.

"Our subscription-free business model has proven to be a big hit with gamers, bringing an enormous and diverse online community to the game."

1 Comment

I didn't think Guild Wars was considered an MMO any more then Diablo 2 given its primarily instanced content. Though I am glad to hear the game has done well and has survived through a market over saturated with WoW clones.

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now