Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Greenpeace slams Nintendo over lack of public eco policies

Wed 19 Mar 2008 9:28am GMT / 5:28am EDT / 2:28am PDT

Greenpeace has again slammed Nintendo for not making public its policies on environmental waste.

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Greenpeace has again slammed Nintendo for not making public its policies on environmental waste.

The latest Greener Guide to Electronics shows a marginal increase for the Japanese manufacturer, following last year's report when Nintendo scored the lowest mark possible in the review.

"Nintendo remains the odd one out of the 18 companies in the Guide, without any public time lines to eliminate the worst toxic chemicals or a global recycling policy for the millions of products it sells every year," said the report.

"If Nintendo has better policies why not make them public like the other 17 companies in the Guide?"

Of Nintendo's direct competitors, Microsoft has improved its ratings in the three months since the last review by bringing forward a deadline to eliminate toxic PVC and chemicals which inhibit ignition, while Sony remains the leading console maker, although Greenpeace notes "it has yet to introduce any green innovation in the PlayStation."

Greenpeace publishes the Greener Electronics Guide to highlight the electronics' industry's efforts to tackle e-waste. This year, Samsung and Toshiba came out on top, with Nokia, Sony, Dell and Lenovo also noted for their public efforts to deal with toxic waste.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now