Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Gran Turismo series clocks up 50 million

Fri 09 May 2008 9:53am GMT / 5:53am EDT / 2:53am PDT

Milestone for Polyphony Digital's highly-regarded racing titles

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony has revealed that the Gran Turismo series has shipped over 50 million units on multiple PlayStation formats.

The original title for the PlayStation was released just over 10 years ago, while last March Gran Turismo 5 Prologue made its debut on the PlayStation 3.

"Initially, Gran Turismo was an ‘alternative’ racing game, kind of an outsider in the genre,” commented Kazunori Yamauchi, producer of Gran Turismo. “And we made it thinking that it would be okay as long as it reached out to ‘the select few who would agree with us'."

"I would really like to thank all the fans who have supported the Gran Turismo series over the years, for all their passion and love of the game. We’d like to continue making every effort to create cutting edge, high quality games, so that we don’t disappoint anyone’s expectations,” he added.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now