Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

GDC: 360 has sold 18m units worldwide - Schappert

Fri 22 Feb 2008 7:01am GMT / 2:01am EST / 11:01pm PST

Microsoft's GDC keynote speaker, John Schappert, says that Xbox 360 has now sold more than 18 million units worldwide

Microsoft's GDC keynote speaker, John Schappert, says that Xbox 360 has now sold more than 18 million units worldwide.

"I think that we've sold 18 million, the last time I've checked. 18 million hardware units worldwide," he told our sister site Eurogamer in an interview published today.

He wouldn't be drawn on projections for the rest of the year.

Schappert also hinted strongly that Microsoft would be unlikely to bother with a Blu-ray drive precisely because the HD-DVD add-on sold poorly.

"We have no plans to announce anything like that right now. But I'd also urge you to look at the attach rate for the HD-DVD drive," he said.

When asked what he meant, he clarified: "It was a 3 percent attach rate...you also have to take into account how did the other accessory do when you look at the future."

Elsewhere in the interview, Schappert, who is corporate vice president of Live, Software and Services for Microsoft's Interactive Entertainment Business, said that the platform holder would fund more Xbox Live Arcade games itself.

The full interview can be read here.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now