Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Garriott sues NCsoft for $24 million

Wed 06 May 2009 9:49am GMT / 5:49am EDT / 2:49am PDT
Publishing

Tabula Rasa creator sues publisher for fraud in major lawsuit

NCsoft

NCsoft is a leading developer and publisher of online games.

A gaming powerhouse with a global reach,...

ncsoft.net

Ultima and Tabula Rasa creator Richard Garriott is to sue previous employer NCsoft for USD 24 million (EUR 18 million) according to a new Texas western district court filing.

Although further details are currently restricted the case was filed on May 5, with the nature of the suit classified as "Torts – Property – Other Fraud". Tort is a legal term referring to a wrongful act or an infringement of a right outside of contractual obligations.

Garriott (aka Lord British) famously left online publisher NCsoft in November of last year, following both his sojourn on the International Space Station as a space tourist and the commercial failure and closure of massively multiplayer online game Tabula Rasa.

It was not clear at the time which event had had the greater influence on Garriott’s decision to leave NCsoft and whether the split had been amicable. Garriott’s comments seemed to suggest he would be distancing himself from the games industry, as he spoke of his intent to pursue "new interests".

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now